Unit 27- Task 3- P6 referral- Tommy Dennis

P6 referral-

Shooting accuracy bespoke test

In a full sized goal I will use zones mapped out in the four corners; top left, top right, bottom left, bottom right. The size of these zones were a 60cm square in each corner. The player will then step from the 18 yard line and attempt to hit these boundaries. The player will get 5 attempts at each zone therefore giving a score out of 20 after the drill has been completed. If the player was to hit a target zone during the drill which is not the one they are supposed to be aiming for, it does not count as a successful shot. To gain a better understanding of how hard the drill was and to make my own normative data for the participants score to fit into I had 5 students completing the drill first. Using their scores as a guideline and from my own representation of how hard the drill was I came up with some normative data.

0-2: poor

3-6: below average

7-10: average

10-14: above average

15+ excellent

target

This diagram shows a drill similar to mine. In my bespoke test the target zones were a lot smaller than these in the picture.

Ball retention bespoke test

This test will be measured in a game situation for the participant. When they are playing in a competitive match I will keep a record of their ball retention. This will be measured by a percentage of how many times they keep the ball when in possession compared to how many times they give possession away. I will record this data by notation analysis whilst watching the game first hand. As the data is on the individual and not the team, I will only be recording times when the participant is on the ball and will be ignoring any other players’ possession stats. To gain a better understanding of what a good ball retention score is I watched a premier league game on the telly along with recording other people at the same level as Oscar ball retention stats. This allowed me to determine what a poor score is and what an excellent score is for example. My normative data is below:

0%-29%: poor

30%-45%: below average

46%-59%: average

60%-75%: above average

76%+ excellent

Leave a comment